Home    Writing Samples    Media     Reviews   Bio

     Links    Memes    Surveys     Awards    Calendar    Workshops


Reviews

The good, the very good, and the not so much.

(From Amazon unless otherwise mentioned. See my Amazon Page for a complete list)

 

 

Mutants on the Rocks (Sto's House Presents... #2)

 

4/5, May 25th 2012

By Star @ The Bibliophilic Book Blog (Owings Mills, MD USA)

All our favorite mutants who hang out at Sto’s house are back in all new adventures in ‘Sto's House Presents: Mutants on the Rocks’! Told again from Diana’s perspective, these ordinary people with strange abilities are just looking to have fun. Read the rest of the review here.

 

 

Beer with a Mutant Chaser (Sto's House Presents... #1)

 

Ann aka Iftcan's review - Posted on goodreads.com Nov 17, 12

This reads more like a diary or possibly a blog. Still, interesting take on what "everyday" mutants would be like.

See the rest of the review here

 

4/5, November 1, 2012

By Star @ The Bibliophilic Book Blog (Owings Mills, MD USA)

I wasn't sure at first what `Sto's House Presents: Beer with a Mutant Chaser' would be like, but I quickly was sucked into the story...

See the rest of the review here.

 

Douglas R. Cobb - Posted on bestsellersworld.com December 23, 2011

Sto’s House Presents: Beer With a Mutant Chaser by KT Pinto is a veritable garden of mutant delights, a cornucopia of mutant coolness. If you’re an Urban Fantasy fan, and enjoy reading about the exploits of mutants–and you’re a beer devotee–you will love reading this book...

See the rest of the review here.

 

Jenn Crewell rated it 4 of 5 stars on goodreads.com Jun 28, 2011
KT Pinto's mutants go on one wild adventure after another, fueled by alcohol and a healthy dose of sarcastic wit. The only fluffy bunnies in sight are the damsels in distress, so don't go looking for traditional science fiction characters to fill out your Bingo card. There's a native attention to detail that sets the action firmly in location, and plenty of pop-culture reference helps the reader fit comfortably into the scenes.

There are a ton of in-jokes for anyone who has met the author at a convention, but nothing that detracts from the experience of the brand new reader.

Above all - never, ever hold hands with The Twins!

 

End of the Rainbow (Grant-winning Novella)

 

I like the story of Diana because I always thought her relationship with her brother was odd...

– Response from anonymous Survey 10/12/12

 

I look forward to reading the completed novel.

- Response from Survey 10/15/12

 

Definitely make it a full, graphic novel!

 - Response from Survey 10/12/12

 

I did like the little aside in the story of Juventas where Juno says, rather snidely, "That was her Greek name. We are Roman gods now" Also, I loved the artwork of Jupiter & Ganymede.

- Response from survey 10/12/12

 

The Q&A session [was my favorite part of the event]. It was in depth, intellectual, and fun!

- Response from survey 10/15/12

 

[Favorite myth in the novella is] The Iris story.

- Response from survey 10/12/12

 

New Blood (Anthology)

 

Irritating, quirky fun - and very interesting points of view, June 13, 2010

By St. WilmaSue The Snarkess (Somewhere in East Texas - LOTS of trees) 

I am, in general, NOT a fan of anthologies of short stories. If the stories are wretched, I hate the time I wasted on them. If the stories are good, I'm irritated because there isn't MORE...

KT Pinto's story about a different kind of punk is delightful in that it shows that no matter what you are, or where you go, there you are...

See the rest of the review here.

 

4.5 out of 5 Tombstones, Friday February 11, 2011

Bitten By Books

“The View Never Changes” by KT Pinto is the story of a young punk who wakes up in an interesting boarding house. This was my favorite story in the anthology. I absolutely loved the twist at the end.

See the rest of the review here

 

Apocalypse 13 (Anthology)

 

Best Sci-Fi collection, December 23, 2012

By irmocrone

This is the best collection of sci-fi-short stories I have read in a very long time. Every story was tightly written, with good, strong characters and a cohesive plot line. Although each one was different, they collectively provided a good read. Five golden quills to the authors!!

 

Mermaids 13 (Anthology)

 

Swimming away from real life with some summer reading,

May 3, 2013 Diane Raetz (West Milford, NJ)

I really enjoyed these 13 stories of underwater mayhem and mystery. There's a fine assortment of stories influenced by fairy tales and mythology, bank robberies, old TV shows, World War II, knights and warriors, declining food sources and, of course, man's intrusion on the mermaid's territory. All the stories, each written by a different author, are tightly written with good characterization. Perfect reading for a beachside summer vacation.

 

Fantastic Futures 13 (Anthology)

 

SF Site Reviews, July 2013

A review by Dave Truesdale

Fantastic Futures 13 is an all-original anthology following in the footsteps of its predecessors, Mermaids 13 and Apocalypse 13. As the title indicates, there are 13 stories exploring the theme of what we might expect for the future of our planet, and 13 very different visions are what we get.

See the rest of the review here.

 

Hear Them Roar (Anthology)

 

Tough Gals In Sci-Fi and Fantasy, August 10, 2006

By Bruce R. Gehweiler

"Hear Them Roar" features tough female lead characters in science fiction, fantasy, and horror settings. This is a really good collection of short stories that are very entertaining. A fun read that I definitely recommend.

 

Unconventional (Anthology)

 

Fun! October 2, 2012

By Pepper "OmaPepper" (W. WA)

My first CON, Norwescon 1996, where I worked in the dealers room and met Marion Zimmer Bradley, saw fairies and Klingons and knights and vampires.....well, I was hooked. If you've ever been to a CON, dreamt of going to one, this book of shorts has at least one story with characters you will recognize. Good stuff!

 

Celeste (The Books of Insanity #1)

 

Awesome! December 21, 2008
By "SandyGirl2225" (Ronkonkoma,NY)
I can think of only one word that defines "Celeste" by KT Pinto. That word is "spellbinding." The narrative way in which it is written grabs you right from page one. The unique combination of history, mythology and folklore capture you and enter you into a surreal world where everything comes to life as the characters jump out of the pages at you. It is intoxicating and addictive.

I am hungry for more and can't wait to receive my copy of "Vanity." I'd love to see these books made into a movie. I am sure it would be a box office hit on the big screen with such a fascinating cast of characters. KT Pinto has struck on something special.

 

I want to be friends with Celeste, November 30, 2008
By MG (Brooklyn, New York United States)
KT Pinto has a writing style all her own. Celeste is so intense that you have no choice but to feel what she feels at every twist and turn. Whether she is happy, sad, angry, insane or horny, you will find yourself right there with her. After reading "Celeste" and "Vanity", all I could say was "I want more. Give me more." I am eagerly awaiting the next book in this series.

 

4.5 out of 5 Tombstones, Thursday August 14, 2008

Bitten By Books (see complete review here)

 

Excellent read, September 30, 2007
By "Jenn" (Omaha, NE USA)
The story was well written. It was hard to put the book down at night. I can't wait until the next 2 books come out in this series!

 

A+, September 22, 2007
By "The phoenix" (Spotswood, NJ USA)
I thought it was a great book. Besides the fact that the author's name is the same as mine and we both like vampire novels, I found it very interesting how she took historic events and worked them into her story. Very creative. A must read in my opinion.

 

"Wonderful premier novel! Great dialog, wonderful characters, and impressive historical backdrop. I can't wait to see what Ms. Pinto does next!"
Christopher Mancuso, Executive Creative Director of Scared on Staten Island

"This isn't just another vampire novel -- Pinto's strong characters jump off the page and go straight for the jugular."
Keith R.A. DeCandido, best-selling author

 

“Thank goodness for Celeste!...The fast-paced plot, torrid sex, and vampiric seductions make for a page-turner you can't put down, while the many twists and turns of Celeste's inner thoughts and capricious actions will keep you guessing until the end...Enjoy!!!”
Kiersten Cherry, author Enslaved

 

Vanity (The Books of Insanity #2)

 

A Reader posted a review at weread.com 2009-03-31
"Vanity" is the second book in the Books of Insanity series being written by KT Pinto. Like the first book in the series, "Celeste", this book was a very enjoyable read. After reading the first two books in the series, I am very much looking forward to reading the third book, "Marco" when it becomes available.

 

A Reader posted a review at weread.com 2009-03-31
Awesome! Couldn't put it down. Hungry for the next book in the series!!!
A must-read for all. Highly captivating and entertaining.

 

4.5 out of 5 Tombstones, Saturday 23 August 2008

Bitten By Books (see complete review here)

 

Vanity is a sweeping tale, going from our reality to the Fae world and back... This series would make amazing movies, with great dialog, grand vistas and exciting characters.”

Christopher Mancuso, Executive Creative Director, Scared on Staten Island

 

Marco (The Books of Insanity #3)

 

Carpe Nocturne - Spring 2012

Review starts on page 184

"I would recommend reading this book. It takes a well-known backdrop and group of characters and pairs them up with vampyres, werecats, and fae, to essentially create story within a story..."

 

Minding Spot - Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Marco is a twist on the tale of how Arthur came to be king, but the story that Celeste spins is captivating. She's horror, power, and feminine and yet intriguing and the choices she makes had my head spinning sometimes. Her mind is on the verge of psychotic, and yet she has friends and loved ones. The writing is excellent, giving just the right amount of details for each scene without overpowering the characters and their motivation.

See the rest of the review here.

Harriet Klausner - Posted on barnesandnoble.com September 28, 2011
The third "Books of Insanity" (see Celeste and Vanity) is an intriguing refreshing look at the development of the Arthurian mythos. Although on the surface Celeste's history (and that of Vanity) will remind readers of Chelsea Quinn Yarbo's Count Saint Germain; they are polar opposites when it comes to morality...

See the rest of the review here.

 

Editorial Review - Publishers Weekly vol. 258 iss. 28 p (c) 07/11/2011

Two vampyres secretly create the Arthurian mythos in Pinto's awkward third supernatural romp (after 2008's Vanity). When Marco brings series antiheroine Celeste DeCumpania to the primitive court of Camelot, she agrees to help him revive the glory of Rome via the unsophisticated warrior Arthur. Celeste uses her powers and magical friends to create legendary events such as the sword in the stone and the questing beast. The underlying concept is original and promising, but the result is less a well-developed riff on the Arthurian legend than a series of oft-humorous but uneven vignettes whose modern elements jar as much as they amuse. A substantial back story involving faeries, werecats, ancient Rome, and a number of other vampyres is adequately sketched in, but periodic intrusions of unresolved issues from previous novels weaken the story's focus and diminish its appeal for new readers. (Sept.)